OLA Information, 2013-14

Officers

President: Penny Hummel

Vice President: Candice Watkins Past President: Michele Burke

Treasurer: Valery King Secretary: April Witteveen Parliamentarian: Buzzy Nielsen ALA Representative: Suzanne Sager Member at large: Laura Madsen State Librarian: MaryKay Dahlgreen

Location and theme of annual conference

Hotel: Salem Convention Center

April 16 -18, 2014

Notable speakers: Josh Hanagarne, Norma Blake, Kathy Schalk-Greene

Legislative activity

- Participation in National Library Legislative Day in Washington, DC
- Participation in the Oregon State Library Transformation Project

Notable awards/honorary memberships

- Library Supporter of the Year,
 - o Grace Scatterday, Volunteer at Dallas Public Library
- Library Employee of the Year,
 - o Sara Brehm, Portland State University Library
- Distinguished Service
 - o Deborah Carver, University of Oregon Librarians
- Lifetime Membership
 - o Allen Kopf, Umatilla County School District
- Librarian of the Year,
 - O Heather McNeil, Deschutes Public Library
- Public Library Division--OLE Award
 - o Anna Bruce, Clackamas County Libraries
- Children's Services Division--Evelyn Sibley Lampman Award
 - o Lee Farren, Ukiah

Outstanding events

• Presentation of OLA's Intellectual Freedom Award to U.S. Senator Ron Wyden