OLA Business Meeting

April 19, 2019

Vancouver, WA Hilton

Approved Minutes

President Esther Moberg opened the meeting at 12:02pm. Sue Ludington Conference Committee Chair spoke, recognizing 5 members for recognition. Susan Davis, Bridget Caine, Steve Overfelt, Arlene Weible, Lacie Legal. Esther presented an overview of the OLA year highlights. Caren Aagata Interim State Librarian thanked colleagues and OLA for a successful year as interim and the transition process at the State Library. Elaine Hirsch, president-elect invited everyone to OLA conference April 28-May 2 in Bend. Contact Liisa Sjoblom or Esther to volunteer.

Lori Wamsley, Treasurer, presented the financial report. OLA is financially solvent and robust. You may find all financials on the OLA website. Please contact Lori or Shirley Roberts with any questions.

Buzzy Nielsen will present the ballot for OLA Executive Board members.

Candidates:

Treasurer

- Lori Wamsley
- Karen Mueller

Secretary

- Laura Baca
- Graham Fox

ALA Councilor

- Kirsten Broadbeck-Kenney
- Laura Kimberely Kager
- Suzanne Sager

Vice President/President Elect

Kate Lasky – candidate speech was presented

Sonja Sommerville – candidate speech was presented

Electronic Ballots will be open for three weeks.

Awards recipients

- President's Choice Award: Buzzy Nielsen
- Past President Award: Buzzy Nielsen
- Intellectual Freedom Champion Award: OBOB Committee (get names)
- PLA Pearl Award: Greg Williams
- OYAY: Danielle Jones
- ACRL Award for Excellence: Learning Goals Project
- CSD Lampman Award: Barbara Curley
- Honorary Lifetime OLA Membership: Pierina "Perri" Parise
- Honorary Lifetime OLA Membership: Jane Corry
- OLA Distinguished Service Award: Liisa Sjoblom
- OLA Distinguished Service Award: Maureen "Mo" Cole
- OLA Library Supporters of the Year: Lance Colley and Michael Lasher (help with Roseburg Public Library)
- OLA Library Employee of the Year: Lee Evans
- OLA Librarian of the Year: Jeremy Skinner, Curry Public Library

Incoming co-chairs of OYAN announced that prizes are at the desk.

Meeting adjourned at 1:30pm