# **OLA Information**, 2009-10

## List of Officers

President: Connie Anderson-Cohoon Vice President: Rob Everett Pas President: Mary Ginnane Treasurer: Liisa Sjoblum Secretary: Lorie Vik Parliamentarian: Steve Skidmore ALA Representative: Suzanne Sager OASL Representative: Ruth Murray PNLA Representative: Dana Campbell Member at large: Anne-Marie Deitering ACRL President: Rachel Bridgewater CSD Chair: Rick Samuelson OYAN Co-Chair: K'Lvn Hann OYAN Co-Chair: Susan Smallsreed PLD Chair: Todd Dunkelberg SSD Chair: Susan Gilmont

State Librarian: Jim Scheppke, OSL

### Location and theme of annual conference

Kell's Irish Restaurant & Pub March 24, 2020

Notable speakers: The Public Library Association held its annual meeting in Portland so OLA did not have a regular conference. We held a business meeting and awards banquet.

### Legislative activity

OLA worked closely with Representative Peter Buckley on HB 2586 which was passed by the legislature. The bill requires that school districts must plan for a strong school library program as part of their Continuous Improvement Plans.

### Notable awards/honorary memberships

OLA Legislator of the Year: Peter Buckley and Margaret Carter OLA Librarian of the Year: Mary Ginnane Library Employee of the Year: Nancy Price Library Supporter of the Year: Betsy Priddy Honorary Life Membership: Myrna Williams Distinguished Service – Deb Hollens Evelyn Sibley Lampman Award: Roland Smith OLE Award: Mary Beth Hustoles

### Outstanding events that you remember

Due to the fact that the Public Library Association held its annual meeting in Portland, OLA decided to forego an annual conference. We sponsored two preconferences and held our annual awards ceremony and banquet. The loss of income from the annual conference made for a tight budget but we came out slightly ahead for the year due to a generous gift from Betsy Priddy.

Peter Buckley was unable to attend the awards ceremony so we sponsored a reception in his honor in Ashland in June following the OLA Executive Board meeting. Anne Billeter, Jim Scheppke, Carol Dinges, and Nan Heim all spoke at the ceremony.

The OLA Executive Board voted unanimously to end our membership in PNLA. This decision was ratified by the membership at the business meeting in March. The Board created a new Oregon Reader's Choice Award (ORCA) which will be presented at the annual OLSL conference each year.

OLA was approached by the leadership of the Oregon School Libraries Association (OASL) about the possibility of merging. A task force began work on identifying various issues and solutions.

Vision 2020 was worked on all year by a small committee and was ratified unanimously by the OLA Executive Board at the June meeting.

The OLA Quarterly was converted to an electronic publication.