OLA Executive Board Meeting Minutes

July 30, 2012 Silver Falls Conference Center Sublimity, Oregon

Voting Members of Executive Board Present: Rob Everett (Past President), Abigail Elder (President), Arlene Weible (Secretary), Anne-Marie Dietering (ACRL-Oregon), Deeda Chamberlain (Children's Services Division), Laura Madsen (Member-at-Large), Hannah Gascho Rempel (ALA Representative), Kris Lutsock (Oregon Young Adult Network), Liisa Sjoblom (Treasurer), Michele Burke (Vice President), MaryKay Dahlgreen (State Librarian), Sean Park (Support Staff Division), Ted Smith (Public Library Division)

During the OLA Board Retreat, Abigail called the Executive Board into a business meeting to discuss an issue that has arisen related to the Board's previous actions on MLS scholarships. Abigail received a letter from the State Librarian requesting that in addition to OLA covering the Oregon Student Assistance Commission (OSAC) administrative costs for the scholarships, that it also covers the travel and supply expenses of the Scholarship Committee. The letter also outlined a five year plan for phasing in a match of LSTA funding based on OLA contributions to scholarship funds. The outline is as follows:

Year 1 FFY2013	LSTA matches OLA contribution 10:1
Year 2 FFY2014	LSTA matches OLA contribution 8:1
Year 3 FFY2015	LSTA matches OLA contribution 6:1
Year 4 FFY2016	LSTA matches OLA contribution 4:1
Year 5+ FFY2017+	LSTA matches OLA contribution 4:1

After some further discussion, it was moved that OLA continue its plan to pay the OSAC fee for FY2013 and pay the travel, meal, and supply expenses of the Scholarship Committee, and have the Scholarship Committee resubmit it FFY 2013 LSTA Project Funding proposal by August 10, 2012 reflecting this change.

Motion: Kris Second: Deeda

The motion carried. MaryKay abstained from voting.

Discussion of the implications of the phased change to LSTA funding with be discussed at a future Board meeting.

Meeting adjourned at approximately 2:15 pm.