For current nominees and voting go to: 

 2018 ORCA Winners

Upper Elementary School Division Winner,
       Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson

Middle School (Intermediate) Division Winner,
The War That Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

High School (Senior) Division Winner,
 Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

 This year we held the 6th annual Oregon Reader’s Choice Award, co-sponsored by 3 OLA divisions (OASL, CSD, OYAN), along with the Oregon Reading Association and the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association.

 If you have any photos or stories about your ORCA experience this year, please send them to [email protected]olaweb.org or comment on the blog.  If you haven't held an ORCA vote at your location, the ORCA blog has booktalks, links to trailers, bookmarks and ballots.

What is the ORCA?
The Oregon Reader's Choice Award was founded in 2010.  The award is intended to be a fun and exciting way for Oregon youth in grades 4-12 to become enthusiastic and discriminating readers.  During the course of the school year, Oregon students choose their favorite book in a real-life democratic process.

How are the books chosen?
Books must be nominated for inclusion on the ORCA ballot.  In order to be considered, the book needs to have a copyright date of two years prior to when the ballots are announced.  This delay ensures that the title will be readily available in paperback during the voting year.  Oregon students, teachers, and librarians are all able to nominate books.  The nominations are reviewed by a committee of librarians and educators.  The committee creates the final ballots based upon a number of criteria, including literary quality, creativity, reading enjoyment, reading level, and regional interest.

Who may vote?
Oregon students in grades 3-12. To qualify for voting, the person must have read, or listened to, at least 2 books in one of the divisions.

When does voting take place?
Voting takes place online between March 1-31. 

The 2018-2019 ORCA Committee
MacKenzie Ross  (Beaverton City Library)
[email protected] 

Oregon Young Adult Network (OYAN)
Amy Korst (Willamina High School)
Anna Bruce (Happy Valley Library)
Elizabeth Johnson (Corvallis-Benton County Public Library)

Oregon State Liberacy Association (OSLA)
Beth LaForce (George Fox University, retired)
Anna Moser (Alsea School)
Carol Lauritzen (Eastern Oregon University, retired)

OLA’s Childrens Services Division (CSD)
Taylor Worley (Springfield Public Library)
Deborah VanDetta (Estacada Public Library
Bekah Westmark (Coos Bay Public Library)

Oregon Association of School Librarians (OASL)
Grace Butler (Whitman Elementary School, Portland)
Jen Blair (Beaverton School District)
Lori Lieberman (Lincoln High School, Portland)

Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association (PNBA)
Billie Bloebaum (Third Street Books, McMinnville)